Queensland sparkies have a bright future

Minister Mark Bailey, Mason Cheyne, Peter O'Keeffe, David Torti, Michael Smyth, Emanuel Eriksson, Energex CEO Terry Effeney and Chairman Gordon Jardine

Queensland Energy Minister Mark Bailey has congratulated Energex’s up and coming electricians at the Energex 2016 Apprentice of the Year awards.

Awards were presented for each electrical trade category, as well as the prestigious Apprentice of the Year honour, which went to David Torti who is based at Energex’s Greenslopes Depot.

“The highest achievers of an already top quality group of apprentices were last night awarded for their commitment to the job of keeping the lights on in South East Queensland,” Mr Bailey said.

“Each award recipient worked exceptionally hard during their apprenticeship and will now go on to lead the technical and trade side of the industry.

“It’s heartening to know we have such a high-quality group of apprentices who will soon be fully-qualified tradespeople teaching the next generation of trainees.”

Mr Bailey also congratulated the staff at Energex responsible for turning out such quality tradespeople.

“To become an exceptional apprentice the student needs outstanding teachers and I congratulate staff at Energex’s depots, the trainers at Energex’s EsiTrain facility and the company’s Apprentice Coordinators, because without their support and leadership, we wouldn’t have such high quality future tradespeople,” he said.

Energex CEO Terry Effeney said the company had a proud history of providing training at the highest levels, and producing tradespeople with first class skills and the experience needed to work as qualified tradespeople.

“In the past 10 years we have seen nearly than 600 apprentices join and train in the Energex family,” Mr Effeney said.

“Apprentices are the future of any industry and as an organisation Energex remains committed to the training of aspiring electricians to the benefit of the individuals and industry at large.

Congratulations to the winners:

  • Electrical fitter mechanic – winner: Michael Smyth (Greenslopes Depot)
  • Electrical fitter mechanic – runner-up: Emanuel Eriksson (Maroochydore Depot)
  • Electrical linesperson – winner: David Torti (Greenslopes Depot)
  • Electrical linesperson – joint runner-up: Peter O’Keeffe (Maroochydore Depot)
  • Electrical linesperson – joint runner-up: Mason Cheyne (Kelvin Grove Depot)
Previous articleIRENA partners with private sector to boost renewables
Next articleFemale electricians make a mark in the Northern Territory