Former Origin, Boral exec to lead Climate Change Authority

climate change, climate, space, earth

Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction Angus Taylor has announced new appointments to the Climate Change Authority.

Grant King

Grant King has been appointed as the Chair of the Climate Change Authority for a term of four years. He is joined at the Authority by new members Susie Smith and John McGee.

Mr King is a thought leader who has already made a significant contribution to the development of Australia’s emissions reduction policy framework. He continues to serve as a member of the Government’s Technology Investment Roadmap Advisory Council and recently chaired an expert panel tasked with unlocking low-cost abatement across the economy (the King Review).

Related article:Spotlight On: Behyad Jafari, Electric Vehicle Council CEO

Mr King brings 40 years’ experience in energy, finance, infrastructure and sustainability. A former President of the Business Council of Australia, he is currently Chairman of HSBC Australia, CWP Renewables and GreenCollar and previously held leadership roles at Origin Energy and Boral.

Ms Smith is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Industry Greenhouse Network and has significant emissions reduction policy expertise. She served as a member of the King Review expert panel, as a director of the CRC for Contamination Assessment and Remediation of the Environment (CRC CARE) and contributed to the work of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories. She is currently a director of Water Polo Australia and the CRC for Future Energy Exports (CRC FEnEx).

Related article: Clean energy? The world’s demand for copper could be catastrophic for communities and the environment

Mr McGee was most recently the Managing Director of Bank of New York Australia Pty Ltd and has extensive financial services and commercial experience. He previously served as a director at Air Services Australia, the Private Health Insurance Administrative Council and Westpac Funds Management.

Mr Taylor said these new members will play a key role in ensuring the Climate Change Authority provides robust advice to Government on emissions reduction policy.

“I thank the departing Chair Dr Wendy Craik, who has led the Authority since 2015,” Mr Taylor said.

“I also extend my gratitude to outgoing members Ms Kate Carnell, Mr Stuart Allison and Mr John Sharp.”