Biggest Western Power depot to include EV chargers, microgrid

Photo: Western Power
Photo: Western Power

Energy Minister Bill Johnston today announced local company ADCO as the lead contractor to build Western Power’s $50 million South-Metro depot in Forrestdale.

Located at 186 Anstey Road, the 14-month construction project will create 1100 jobs for Western Australians.

The South-Metro facility will be a central hub for energy services in the Perth metro area.

It will bring together 850 operational and service employees from the Kewdale, Mt Claremont, Forrestfield and Jandakot depots, and a fleet of 450 heavy and light vehicles.

Related article:NZ solar plant transacted using Bitcoin

The state-of-the-art facility includes electric vehicle charging stations, a solar panel micro-grid and a dedicated grid transformation warehouse for research.

Part of Western Power’s depot modernisation program, the new facility will meet the growing energy needs of its customers while improving operational efficiencies.

Energy Minister Bill Johnston said “Perth’s new South-Metro depot will support the rapid transformation of our main electricity grid and the changing energy needs of Western Australians.

Related article: Australian first biomethane trial for NSW gas network

“This facility is another key part of the McGowan Government’s Distributed Energy Resources Roadmap and our transition towards a low carbon future.

“Constructing the depot will create 1100 WA jobs, which is the McGowan Government’s number one priority, and will boost our local economy during COVID-19.”

Jandakot MLA Yaz Mubarakai said, “The Forrestdale depot is an exciting project for the Jandakot region and community and I look forward to it opening in 2022.

“Once operating, it’ll result in an extra 850 Western Australians working in the area, this will mean more money being spent at our local cafes and businesses.”

Western Power is a statutory corporation established by the Electricity Corporations Act 2005. It is owned by the State Government of Western Australia and is accountable to the Minister for Energy.