2023 Chloe Munro Scholarship recipients announced

Chloe Munro standing against dark background with bright light shining to the left
Chloe Munro AO

Among a large number of strong applications received from every state and territory, the Clean Energy Council has announced the successful recipients of the 2023 Chloe Munro Scholarship for Transformational Leadership.

Now in its third year, the Chloe Munro Scholarship for Transformational Leadership focuses on supporting women who are emerging leaders in the fields of clean energy, energy management and carbon abatement and is delivered in partnership with our official Education Provider, Women & Leadership Australia.

Related article: Applications open for Transgrid engineering scholarships

The Executive Ready winners are:
• Sharon Tissai-Krishna — Associate Technical Director, Ampyr Energy
• Claire Whiteway — National Development Lead E&P, Aurecon
• Dr. Madeline Taylor — Director of Research Training, Macquarie University
• Catherine Fetherstonhaugh — Head of Commercial Asset Management, RES

The Leading Edge winners are:
• Maiken Hansen — Commercial Manager, Green Energy Partners
• Sera Tarpis — Engineer, Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO)
• Jessica Holt — Generation Technician, Hydro Tasmania
• Alice Moore — Principal Policy Officer, Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action (DEECA)
• Gemma Harrison — Hydrogen Business Development Manager, Ampol Australia
• Manuela Londoño Ferro — Business Development Lead, Raygen
• Lara Panjkov — Growth & Market Development Senior Manager, Fluence

Four recipients will undertake the Executive Ready course, a seven-month development program for middle to senior leaders, and seven recipients will undertake the Leading Edge course, a four-month development program for early-career leaders and managers.

“We’re excited to welcome more talented women from different segments of the industry and from different parts of Australia into an expanded scholarship program, which itself speaks to the high calibre of applications received,” Clean Energy Council CEO Kane Thornton said.

“Women are at the centre of a just transition, and we know that the future of Australia’s clean energy workforce champions greater diversity in its ranks.

Related article: Neoen’s Alicia Webb wins Women in Renewables scholarship

“Networking opportunities, mentorship and support networks play a fundamental role in encouraging more women to join the industry that will be critical to Australia’s future success and continued prosperity over coming decades.”

The Chloe Munro Scholarship for Transformational Leadership has been established through the leadership of the Clean Energy Council and is supported by the Victorian Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action, ACEN Australia, the Australian Energy Market Operator, the Australian Renewable Energy Agency, the Carbon Market Institute, the Clean Energy Finance Corporation, CleanCo Queensland, the Energy Efficiency Council, GreenCollar, Hydro Tasmania, Iberdrola Australia, Sentient Impact Group and Squadron Energy.

Previous articleNew report makes case for electrifying Australian homes
Next articleGovernment pledges $2 billion towards critical minerals