Applications open for Transgrid engineering scholarships

SCU students stand smiling with their scholarships (transgrid)
2023 Transgrid scholarship recipients (Image: Transgrid)

Prospective students at Charles Sturt University can now apply for scholarships as part of a $2 million program to invest in the next generation of engineers and address Australia’s infrastructure skills shortage.

Applications are now open for 25 scholarships for first-year engineering students at the university’s Bathurst campus in 2024 under Transgrid’s Engineering Scholarship Fund.

Related article: Transgrid awards engineering scholarships to CSU students

Transgrid executive general manager of major projects Gordon Taylor said, “Transgrid is delivering the critical infrastructure and priority projects identified by the Commonwealth and NSW governments to enable Australia’s clean energy transition.

“I encourage prospective students to apply for a scholarship with each recipient to receive $20,000 over four years to help meet the costs associated with their study, living expenses and learning resources.”

Transgrid’s $2 million Engineering Scholarship Fund is supporting 100 engineering students at the university’s Bathurst campus between 2023 and 2026 to help grow a skilled workforce in regional Australia as the clean energy transition accelerates.

The first 17 engineering scholarships were awarded earlier this year, with recipients hailing from NSW regional centres including Albury, Bathurst, Dubbo, Orange, Port Macquarie and Wagga Wagga, as well as Victoria and Queensland.

Related article: Sky’s the limit for new Transgrid energy apprentices

Transgrid scholarships are open for commencing students undertaking a Bachelor of Engineering (Civil) (Honours) or a Bachelor of Technology (Civil)/Master of Engineering (Civil) at Charles Sturt University.

Applications are now open for 2024, with the early bird round closing on November 26 and offers to go out on December 12. Applications will remain open with a second round of offers to be made on January 22.

Previous articleAmpol and Hanson to conduct renewable diesel trial
Next articleRegulator kicks off inspections to prevent bushfires