Star Scientific wins SXSW Innovation Award

Laser technology at Star Scientific lab (SXSW)
Star Scientific lab

Australian hydrogen research, development and deployment company Star Scientific Limited has won the 24th Annual South by Southwest (SXSW) Innovation Awards’ New Economy category, which recognises the most innovative tech developments in the connected world.

“We are absolutely thrilled that our HERO was selected as winner for these prestigious awards,” Star Scientific global group chairman Andrew Horvath said.

Related article: Star Scientific provides carbon-free heat for Mars Food Australia

Innovators and creators from around the world vied for top honours in this unique, long-running SXSW competition. Finalists, which included an amazing array of some of the world’s most forward-thinking technology projects, had the opportunity to demonstrate their projects for the SXSW attendees and the Innovation Awards Finalist Judges at a Finalist Showcase over the weekend. 

“The Award is recognition of our ability to put renewable hydrogen into use with HERO today, to solve real energy challenges, and in particular the energy draw of the digital economy,” Horvath said.

“The most logical, viable pathway to decarbonising our entire world is through technologies that address the heat and energy requirements across a products’ whole production process, and HERO does that.”

The digital economy demands a huge amount of energy, but solar, wind and batteries won’t serve its total needs—which is why there is so much interest in green hydrogen as an energy source. HERO can liberate the energy stored in renewable hydrogen without the complexities of burning it. With HERO, for instance, data centres and other Internet of Things (IoT) infrastructure can be energy independent.

Related article: Monash team wins Elon Musk-funded climate change award

South By Southwest (SXSW) is an annual award hosted to celebrate and honor the individuals and companies who do the most innovative, creative, and inspirational work in their respective fields.

Past winners of the Innovation Awards include MasSpec Pen by the Eberlin Lab at The University of Texas at Austin, Maestro: Empowering VR Storytelling Through Social Collaboration by Penrose Studios, Swarm AI by Unanimous AI, HBO’s SXSWestworld by Giant Spoon, Aira – Visual Interpreter for the Blind by Aira, and Butterfly iQ by Butterfly Network.

Previous articleEnvironment Minister wins court appeal against students
Next articleQueensland closer to clean transport with EV funding