NSW scientist recognised for energy storage innovation

Professor Gordon Wallace

University of Wollongong Professor Gordon Wallace has been named the 2017 NSW Scientist of the Year today.

The ARC Centre of Excellence for Electromaterials Science (ACES) director is an internationally renowned researcher in the field of electromaterials science known for his innovative use of nanotechnology in conjunction with organic conductors to create new materials for energy conversion and storage, as well as medical bionics.

Professor Wallace has led the development of innovative approaches to materials processing and fabrication tools that enable advanced materials to be integrated into practical devices for use in energy and medical bionics.

This has facilitated a number of commercial opportunities in both areas.

ACES research into energy conversion and the formation of hydrogen from water into important fuels, hydrogen and oxygen, has led to the successful formation of an ACES spin-off company, AquaHydrex, now in its fifth year of operation.

AquaHydrex has recently teamed up with Australian Gas Networks in a pilot project that will lead to hydrogen being injected into Adelaide’s gas system as early as 2018.

“It is a great honour to have a fantastic team to captain and for our research to be recognised in this way,” Professor Wallace said.

“We will continue to strive to ensure our most fundamental discoveries are translated into real applications to the benefit of our communities in the most effective way possible.”

Professor Wallace is among 10 leading researchers, innovators and educators who will be honoured at the 2017 Premier’s Prizes for Science & Engineering at Government House today.

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian said the prizes recognise the contribution scientists and engineers make to our everyday lives.

“This year’s prizes again demonstrate NSW has some of the world’s best and brightest scientists and technologists across a diverse range of disciplines right here in our own backyard,” Premier Berejiklian said.

“Through their inspiring ingenuity and innovation this year’s winners have delivered economic, environmental, health, social and technological benefits for the global community.”