New NSW energy minister appointed after Cabinet reshuffle

Electricity transmission towers (reliability panel)
Image: Shutterstock

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian and Deputy Premier John Barilaro have announced a Cabinet reshuffle.

“Our new team will work hard to make life easier for people right across NSW,” Ms Berejiklian said.

There are seven new faces in a Cabinet that will deliver the benefits of six years of strong economic management to everyone in NSW.

Don Harwin has been appointed the Minister of Resources, Energy and Utilities, and Arts.

The Australian Energy Council congratulated Mr Harwin on his appointment, and thanked the former Minister for Industry, Resources and Energy, the Hon Anthony Roberts MP, for his work with the sector.

“Minister Harwin is an experienced Parliamentarian who comes to this portfolio at an important time for the National Energy Market,” chief executive Matthew Warren said.

“He assumes responsibility for energy following a period of significant reform in NSW. We look forward to working with him as the transformation continues.”

Mr Warren also thanked Minister Roberts for his outstanding management of the energy portfolio over the last three years.

“Minister Roberts was responsible for the successful implementation of important reforms, including the deregulation of electricity prices and the part sale of state-owned electricity networks,” he said.

“These have benefitted NSW consumers and readied the state for future changes in this important sector. We wish both Ministers continued success in their new roles.”

The new Cabinet will be sworn in at Government House this afternoon.

Previous articleIs ‘clean coal’ power the answer to Australia’s emissions targets?
Next article2017 will be a big year for Australia’s energy system: here’s what to look out for