Energy blueprint panel appointed

Federal and state energy ministers have selected an independent panel to develop the reform blueprint for energy security following an agreement at the Council of Australian Governments Energy Council meeting earlier this month.

At the time, chief scientist Alan Finkel was announced as the lead in the review.

The panel now includes Clean Energy Regulator chair Chloe Munro, Energy Queensland transition general manager Terry Effeney, New South Wales chief scientist and engineer Mary O’Kane and former Origin Energy chief financial officer and current board director of Orica, Boral and Charter Hall, Karen Moses.

Speaking to The Australian Federal minister for energy Josh Frydenberg said the panel had the right combination of regulatory, commercial, scientific and network experience to advise the government at this critical time.

“The COAG energy council has agreed on an exceptionally strong expert panel under Alan Finkel to provide recommendations to government on how to strengthen Australian energy security.”

The panel will look at all aspects of the energy market, including technology, regulation and rules and infrastructure.

A preliminary report will be handed down in December with the full and final report expected in the new year.