APPEA chief executive resigns

Image: Dr Malcolm Roberts, courtesy INPEX

The board of the Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association (APPEA) formally accepted the resignation of its chief executive Dr Malcolm Roberts.

“After more than three years leading APPEA, it is time for a fresh challenge,” Dr Roberts said.

“It has been a privilege to work with so many outstanding people from the industry and to lead the small, talented team in the secretariat.

“My time with APPEA coincided with an extremely challenging period for the industry.

“The industry – and APPEA – are now both leaner and more capable with very positive prospects heading into the future.

Related article:INPEX ships first LNG cargo

Dr Roberts’ successor, who was recruited to the role after an extensive search, will be named in the New Year and commence soon after.

The board has also announced the re-election of Zoe Yujnovich as chair and Michael Abbott as vice chair following the company’s annual general meeting.

Zoe Yujnovich is the chairman of Shell Australia and was elected as APPEA chair in November 2017.

The board also voted to extend the tenure of Mr Abbott – the senior vice-president, Corporate and Legal, Woodside Energy, as APPEA’s vice chair.

Related article:Jemena shuts down “price gouging” accusations

Following the 2018 board election, the association’s directors are:

  • Zoe Yujnovich – Shell Australia
  • Michael Abbott – Woodside Energy
  • Frank Calabria – Origin Energy
  • Kate Callaghan – Chevron Australia
  • Ian Davies – Senex Energy
  • Ernie Delfos – Eni Australia
  • Seiya Ito – INPEX
  • Matt Kay – Beach Energy
  • Wendy King – ConocoPhillips Australia
  • Bruce Lake – Vermilion Oil & Gas Australia
  • David Maxwell – Cooper Energy
  • Tor McCaul – Comet Ridge
  • Richard Owen – ExxonMobil Affiliates in Australia
  • Graham Salmond – BHP Billiton Petroleum
  • Eric Streitberg – Buru Energy
  • Brett Woods – Santos Limited.