AEMC Chairman stepping down

AEMC's John Pierce

Chairman of the Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC), John Pierce AO, has announced he will step down from the Commission on July 3 when his term finishes. 

Mr Pierce was appointed as the Chairman on June 2, 2010 and re-appointed on June 2, 2015.

Mr Pierce said the AEMC had a reputation for “high integrity, high value work” that had only grown stronger. 

“After 10 years as Chairman I am proud to see the AEMC consolidating its role as rule-maker and government adviser on how best to take advantage of new technology and deliver the outcomes consumers expect consistent with the policy objectives of the NEM jurisdictions,” Mr Pierce said. 

He added that consumers were “in good hands because of the expertise and deep thinking” that AEMC staff bring to bear. 

Related article: Powering up telescopes at Siding Spring Observatory

“One of the great joys of working at the AEMC is the privilege of engaging with all our stakeholders and sharing in the passion they have for the energy sector. Their ideas, creativity and generosity in contributing to the work of the Commission is not only vital for our work, but a source of inspiration,” he said.

AEMC chief executive Benn Barr said that under Mr Pierce’s leadership, the AEMC had “a truly robust approach to policymaking in the long-term interests of consumers”.

“I have known John for many years. And even before we met, his reputation in government circles was big. As someone from that side of the fence I am well aware of the deep regard John has for community and parliamentary institutions of government,” Mr Barr said.

“John’s relentless energy and his analytical curiosity is a force to be reckoned with.”  

Related article: Garderos appoints Control Logic as ANZ distributor

Mr Pierce is a former Secretary of the Federal Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism, a former Chairman of NSW Treasury Corp and served for more than a decade as Secretary of the NSW Treasury. 

Before that, he was at then Pacific Power and the then Electricity Commission of NSW.

He is a member of the UNSW Australian School of Business (ASB) Advisory Council and Macquarie University’s Industry Advisory Board, Department of Economics. 

He has been appointed as Adjunct Professor in the Office of the Pro Vice Chancellor (Business), Griffith University. 

Previous articleHigh Court decision today on the long legal battle over New Acland Coal mine expansion
Next articleNew dates for Bridgestone World Solar Challenge