Zali Steggall to present energy policy ideas at AES 2019

Zali Steggall
Zali Steggall

Fresh off the heels of her victory in the May 2019 federal election, Zali Steggall will present her energy policy ideas at the Australian Energy Storage 2019 Conference and Exhibition (AES) 2019.

“With so much renewable energy coming online in Australia, and both large and small scale batteries now starting to be installed alongside, it’s an exciting time to be in the space,” Ms Steggall said.

Ms Steggall’s presentation will explore storage policy ideas and how her division intends to work constructively towards a better energy and climate future.

“I’m proud to say my own electorate, Warringah, has a dedicated group of energy developers who have contributed up to 1GW of installed capacity already — yet challenges remain,” Ms Steggall said.

Related article:New Spanish government creates stability for solar

“A lack of targets for both storage and renewable energy to 2030, and no commitments for funding for ARENA or the CEFC, could create problems for the transition to the future, clean grid.

“If we want to keep the boom going, we need clear policy directions from our leaders.

“I believe conferences like these are a great way to gain first hand knowledge for people on the ground and develop ideas that eventually turn into policy reality.”

Ms Steggall’s talk will be complemented by presentations from a range of government executives and legislators, offering AES 2019 attendees a comprehensive look at the regulatory climate around energy storage.

Related article: AEMC says policy needs to incorporate emissions

Other confirmed AES 2019 speakers include:

  • The Hon. Ben Franklin MLC, Parliamentary Secretary for Energy, NSW Government
  • Terry Daly, Director of Energy Programs, Department of Planning and Environment, NSW Government
  • Amy Kean, Director of Energy Infrastructure and Emerging Technologies, NSW Department of Planning and Environment
  • Ian Kay, Chief Financial Officer, ARENA
  • Simon Brooker, Executive Director, CEFC
  • And many more.