Energy Charter announces 2020-2022 Independent Accountability Panel

hydrogen, Ben Wilson, AGIG
Ben Wilson

The Energy Charter CEO Council, made up of 19 CEOs across the Australian energy sector, has announced the 2020-2022 Independent Accountability Panel.

The Independent Accountability Panel will review and assess the businesses’ commitments to improve customer outcomes under the Energy Charter in a streamlined and focused process taking into account the important learnings from its inaugural year.

Chair of the CEO Council and CEO of AGIG Ben Wilson said, “I am delighted to welcome Clare Petre as the Chair of the Independent Accountability Panel, to join ongoing panel members Dr Cassandra Goldie and Mr Andrew Richards for the next three years.

Related article:Dural electricity towers removed by Ausgrid

“The process this year will be focused and tighter with shorter disclosures, longer CEO Council interviews, extensive stakeholder engagement and a more targeted final report,” Mr Wilson said.

Clare Petre is the former NSW Energy and Water Ombudsman. She has a long career in the community sector including as a board director at Energy Consumers Australia. Her current roles are NAB Customer Advocate, Chair of the Code of Conduct Committee for the Australian Council for International Development, Chair of the New Energy Tech Consumer Code and Board member of the Asylum Seekers Centre.

Related article:Hydro Tasmania donates groceries to charity

The CEO of the Australian Council of Social Service, Dr Cassandra Goldie, has been appointed as the Independent Accountability Panel’s consumer representative.

Dr Goldie has extensive experience in economic and social issues, civil society, social justice and human rights. She has more than a decade’s experience in advocating for an equitable transition to clean energy that includes people on low-income as a priority.

Energy Users of Association of Australia CEO Andrew Richards will serve as the Panel’s business and industrial end-user representative, having worked within the energy industry for the past 28 years and played a key role in numerous state and federal parliamentary inquiries into energy and climate change policy.