Committee to examine future dispatchable energy generation and storage

AER, Schneider Electric, Western Power, regulator, power disconnections

The House of Representatives Standing Committee on the Environment and Energy has launched a new inquiry into dispatchable energy generation and storage capability in Australia.

Following a referral from the Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction, the Hon Angus Taylor MP, the Committee resolved to conduct an inquiry into the current circumstances, and the future need and potential for dispatchable energy generation and storage capability in Australia.

Committee Chair, Ted O’Brien MP said, “Australia’s energy system is changing. We are seeing rapid growth in renewable energy and the retirement of thermal energy capabilities, which creates a risk of unintended consequences.

Related article: ACCC: Greater effort needed to overcome high gas prices

“As older power stations leave the market, we can’t rely on intermittent renewables alone to keep the lights on and the costs down.

“We need sufficient dispatchable generation capacity to balance renewables, so the electricity system is affordable, reliable and secure. Our new inquiry will tackle this generational challenge by assessing both sides of the equation – generation and storage.

“It’s not just about how the system works today but how it might work in the future, so we’ll assess the future need for dispatchability and the potential for different types of technology.

Related article:Network-connected battery storage trial to begin in Queensland

“We will learn from what’s happening elsewhere in the world to address this challenge while exploring opportunities for Australia to export dispatchable zero-emissions power to others.

“We’re at a turning point in how our electricity market operates and how we respond will be a major determinant of our strength as a nation well into the future. We have to get it right.”

Further information, including the inquiry’s full terms of reference, is available on its website.

The Committee will accept submissions addressing the terms of reference until May 7, 2021.