Australian Energy Council appoints new chair

Jeff Dimery

The Australian Energy Council (AEC) Board has appointed Jeff Dimery as its new chair and Steve Davy as deputy chair.

AEC chief executive Matthew Warren said, “Both Mr Dimery and Mr Davy bring a breadth of experience to the leadership of the industry’s peak body. This will be invaluable as we continue to progress the transformation of the industry.

“We are pleased to have two such respected energy executives to lead our Board at this critical time for the industry.

“I’d also like to thank Frank Calabria, the outgoing chairman, for his outstanding service as the inaugural chair of the AEC over the past two years. Frank’s leadership has been highly valued during a challenging period.”

Frank Calabria is CEO of Origin Energy and will remain a member of the AEC’s Board.

Jeff Dimery is CEO of Alinta Energy and was previously the AEC’s deputy chair.

Steve Davy is CEO of Hydro Tasmania. He is also currently chairman of Hydro Tasmania’s mainland retail business, Momentum Energy.

AEC represents 21 major electricity and downstream natural gas businesses operating in competitive wholesale and retail energy markets. These businesses collectively generate the overwhelming majority of electricity in Australia and sell gas and electricity to more than 10 million homes and businesses.