AER welcomes two new board members

Headshots of new AER Board members Jarrod Ball and Lynne Gallagher
New AER Board members Jarrod Ball and Lynne Gallagher

The Australian Energy Regulator (AER) has welcomed the Governor-General’s appointment of Jarrod Ball and Lynne Gallagher to its Board.

With more than 20 years’ experience across government and business, Ball is an Adjunct Associate Professor at Deakin Business School, has held several board and committee positions, and is currently chief economist for the Committee for Economic Development of Australia (CEDA).

Related article: Regulator makes ruling on network incentive scheme

Gallagher is currently CEO of Energy Consumers Australia and brings with her over 20 years’ sector leadership, and invaluable knowledge and experience in the energy market, retail markets, and network businesses on the demand and supply side.

Gallagher has also held several executive positions in the Australian Public Service, financial sector and served on multiple boards and committees.

AER Chair Clare Savage said the appointment of Ball and Gallagher brings further consumer, technical and economic expertise that will contribute significantly to the AER’s continued work to support energy consumers.

“We’re delighted to welcome Lynne and Jarrod to our Board and look forward to them commencing their roles in coming weeks,” Savage said.

Related article: Regulator warns electricity prices to rise by 20%

“Their experience, and breadth and depth of industry knowledge is an incredible asset to the AER, and will play a pivotal role in ensuring that we continue to engage with our broad stakeholder base and achieve real outcomes for our consumers.”

Both appointments are for five years and fill the vacancies created by the resignation of Catriona Lowe and retirement of Eric Groom.

Previous articleAustralia to legislate national Net Zero Authority
Next articleHydro Tas workers return to historic Tarraleah Village